Moynalvey GFC

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Recent Results

  • 16/10/2022 (Div. 3 Reserve Cup Final): Oldcastle 3-8 Moynalvey 0-10) Match Report
  • 12/10/2022 (Div. 6 MFC Final: Moynalvey/Boardsmill 2-9 Clonard/Ballinabrackey 1-6) Match Report
  • 09/10/2022 (Ladies Junior A Championship Final: Moynalvey 3-4 St. Ultans 2-11) Match Report
  • 01/10/2022 (Reserve Cup Div. 3 Semi-Final: Moynalvey 0-14 Donaghmore/Ashbourne 0-11) Match Report
  • 24/09/2022 (Ladies Junior A Championship Semi-Final: Moynalvey 3-10 Walterstown 1-12) Match Report
  • 18/09/2022 (Senior Championship Quarter-Final: Moynalvey 0-10 Ratoath 3-8) Match Report
  • 06/09/2022 (Reserve Cup - Div. 3 - Round 4: Moynalvey 3-10 Dunderry 0-5) Match Report
Friday December 09, 2022
Home Under 21/Minor Minors lose out in league decider

Minors lose out in league decider

E-mail Print PDF
What a month May has been for underage football in Skryne. The Under 14's won the Div 1 league title and will represent Meath at the National Feile Finals, last week the U16's defeated Rathkenny to claim Div 2 FL honours while the most recent title was won on Saturday when the minor footballers defeated a fancied Jenkinstown Gaels side to win the MFL Div 2 crown at Pairc Tailteann

Skryne 1-11 Jenkinstown Gaels 1-8

Skryne played with the wind in the opening half and were two points to the good, with scores from Conor O'Brien and Stephen O'Brien after five minutes. On their very first attack Jenkinstown (Moynalvey and Blackhall Gaels) got in for a goal when Feargal McCabe netted. Cillian O'Sullivan gave the amalgamation side the lead before Skryne kicked five unanswered points from Stephen Rathbourne, Neil Burke, Sean Cassidy, Cian Lynch and Stephen O'Brien. Going in at the break Skryne led 0-9 to 1-3.

The Tara men extended their lead in the early minutes of the second half. Points from Conor O'Brien and Burke gave them a 0-11 to 1-3 advantage. County minor Cillian O'Sullivan kicked three points to close the gap and and further scores from McCabe and Niall Kelly had the game level 0-11 to 1-8 with five minutes left. Some great defending and a powerful display from midfielder and captain Harry Rooney prevented Jenkinstown from taking the lead. On a rare attack Conor O'Brien converted a penalty to put Skryne back in control. O'Sullivan had a chance to send the game into extra time but his effort for a goal just went wide and Mick O'Dowd's charges held on for a well deserve victory.

Skryne: Barry Clarke, Paraic Murphy, Donal Ryan, Niall Lenihan, Timmy Lennon, Conor Whelan, David O'Brien, Harry Rooney, Tony Kennedy, Cian Lynch (0-1), Stephen O'Brien (0-2), Sean Cassidy (0-1), Conor O'Brien (1-3), Neil Burke (0-3), Stephen Rathbourne (0-1).
Sub: Jason Fox

Jenkinstown Gaels: Chris O'Malley, Joseph Munnelly, Darragh Brannigan, Conor Sherrin, Shane Whitty, Brian Harnan, Mark Foy, Padraic Harnan, Eamon Walsh, Niall Kelly (0-1), Feraghal McCabe (1-1), Paddy Connell, Shaun Deering, Cillian O'Sullivan (0-6), Paul Kelly
Subs: David McLoughlin, Michael Burke

(Report courtesy of Hoganstand)


Club Newsletter

Moynalvey Images


Created by SopanTech Solutions


Content View Hits : 2372229

Club Membership


Lotto Draws

Lotto Results

Upcoming Fixtures

Follow Moynalvey


Who's online

We have 21 guests online

Moynalvey GFC Sponsors

Mcc FF removebg preview

   Moynalvey Building Services