Inny Gaels claimed the Meath U14 Division 3 football championship last night with a hard earned win over Moynalvey at Pairc Tailteann.

Inny Gaels 8-14 Moynalvey 6-13

Dylan Tighe and Joseph Blake were the heroes of the hour for the Gaels as the pair scored a total of 6-10 between them. Moynalvey's Hughie O'Sullivan scored an impressive 4-6 of his teams tally.

Brian O'Reilly had Moynalvey on the scoreboard first but Inny Gaels replied with three points from Tighe. Blake and Shane Gibney. Moynalvey took over for the next 10 minutes and 2-1 from O'Sullivan plus a goal from Matthew Martin had them 3-3 to 0-3 up after 15 minutes. Inny Gaels hit back to lead at the break 4-7 to 4-6 with fine goals from Blake (2), Tighe and Alan Moore.

After ten minutes of the second half the sides were level 5-9 each. Dylan Tighe got his second goal while Hughie O'Sullivan kicked 1-2 for Moynalvey. The Gaels management team moved Tighe to the edge of the square and Blake out on to the forty and this had a desired effect. A point from Sean Reilly was followed by 1-1 each from Tighe and Blake to put the Moylagh Ballinacree combination in control. O'Sullivan converted a penalty to give Moynalvey some hope but time ran out and Inny Gaels were crowned champions.

After the game Meath Juvenile Board Chairman Paul Mooney presented the Division 3 Cup to Inny Gaels captain Kevin Gilsenan.

Inny Gaels: Ciaran Boylan, Cian Tully, Conan Smyth, Robert McGivney, Matthew Corrigan, Darren Gibney, Harry Reilly, Sean Reilly (0-1), Kevin Gilsenan (0-1), Ben Reilly, Dylan Tighe (3-2), Jack Doyle, Shane Gibney (1-2), Joseph Blake (3-8), Alan Moore (1-0).

Moynalvey: Alex Corscadden, Aidan Gilsenan, Adam Murphy, Stephen Quinn, Ryan Fields, Roman Regan, Colum Kiernan, Conor Harnan (1-2), Brian O'Reilly (0-4), Matt Brennan, Matthew Martin (1-1), Rory Scanlon, Scott Tuite, Hughie O'Sullivan (4-6), Mark Weldon. Subs: Eamonn Slevin, Fergal Murray, Thomas McCabe

(Report taken from Hoganstand)