

Moynalvey's run in the Meath Cleaning Supplies Div. 4 Premier Championship was put to a halt at the semi-final stage by Oldcastle at Kilmore Park Moynalvey on Monday evening 26<sup>th</sup> June.

## Moynalvey 3-7 Oldcastle 3-13

In what was literally a tale of two halves, it was Jude McNabb's North Meath outfit who finished six point winners to progress to next Sunday's final in Pairc Tailteann.

The visitors looked like running away with things early on as they built up a 1-5 to 0-2 lead in the opening quarter, Moynalvey's points from William Harnan and Stephen Donoghue, having lost centre back Paul Corcoran to injury after just 10 minutes.

Robert Keane bundled the ball over the Oldcastle line to reduce the deficit to three points, 1-5 to 1-2 with 17 minutes played.

Two further Oldcastle goals, the first from Cillian Connell and the second a penalty on the stroke of half time whereby Moynalvey also lost David Durkan to a black card saw the visitors hold a commanding eleven point lead at half time, 3-7 to 1-2.

Three Oldcastle points within five minutes of the restart saw their advantage pushed out to a massive fourteen point lead, 3-10 to 1-2.

With the re-introduction of Durkan to bring Moynalvey back to the full 15, the home side dominated their opponents for the next fifteen minutes or so reeling off 2-5 with Oldcastle adding a point in that time to whittle the deficit down from fourteen to four points, 3-11 to 3-7

with eight minutes remaining.



Deering had the opportunity to grab a second goal from the penalty spot late on only to see his effort saved and Oldcastle tagged on a further brace of points to settle nerves and hold on to their six point win and advance to the final of a full time score line of 3-13 to 3-7.

Best for Moynalvey were Cillian Kelly, David Durkan, Stephen Donoghue Paul Conneely and William Harnan.

## Moynalvey Team & Scorers:

Anthony Brien, Cillian Kelly, Darragh Branigan, Adam Rooney, David Durkan, Paul Corcoran, Vinny Walsh (0-2f), Eoin Corrigan, Stephen Donoghue (0-1), Shaun Deering (1-0), Paul Conneely, Donal Smith, Darren Brennan (1-1), William Harnan (0-2), Robert Keane (1-1). Sub: Aidan Gilsenan for Paul Corcoran.