

Moynalvey picked up their first win in the Premier Football Championship when defeating neighbours Blackhall Gaels by two points at Kilmore Park on Sunday morning 23rd April.

Moynalvey 1-12 Blackhall Gaels 1-10

Moynalvey got off to the best possible start when a Shaun Deering point attempt fell short just beneath the cross bar, which Blackhall 'keeper Colin Byrne mishandled with the ball crossing the line for the game's first score.

Points from Anthony Brien and Conor Quinn left it 1-2 to 0-0 to the home side with five minutes played.

Blackhall opened their account in the 8th minute with a point from Kevin O'Keane, which was followed sixty seconds with a point from a Luke Jennings free.

An excellent save from Colin Byrne denied Kyle O'Malley grabbing a second goal for Moynalvey.

Vinny Walsh sent over the first of his six points in the 13th minute which was followed by a second for Anthony Brien, leaving the score 1-4 to 0-2 at the mid-point of the opening half.

Three Blackhall Gaels points, Tadhg Brosnan with two and O'Keane with his second were

countered by three in a row from Walsh, leaving the half time score read 1-7 to 0-5 in favour of Moynalvey.

Within six minutes of the second half Moynalvey stretched their advantage to seven, with points from Adam Rooney and Vinny Walsh, 1-9 to 0-5.

The Gaels then outscored the home side by 1-3 to 0-1 between the 38th and 50th minutes, with 1-1 from Tom Powderly and a brace from Tadhg Brosnan. Moynalvey's point coming from Vinny Walsh.

A Shaun Deering point was countered by Blackhall Gaels' points from Kevin O'Keane and Luke Jennings, leaving just the minimum between the sides, 1-11- 1-10, with five minutes remaining.

Two minutes past the hour mark Darren Brennan popped up with the game's final score to give Moynalvey a two point win and secure their first two points of the campaign.

Best for the winners were Darren Brennan, Donal Smith, Kyle O'Malley, Anthony Brien and top scorer Vinny Walsh.

Moynalvey team & scorers:

Conor Egan, David Durkan, Darragh Branigan, Adam Rooney (0-1), Charlie McCormack, Darren Brennan (0-1), Conor Quinn (0-1), Eoin Corrigan, Donal Smith, Craig Gilsenan, Paul Conneely, Kyle O'Malley, Shaun Deering (1-1), Vinny Walsh (0-6, 2f), Anthony Brien (0-2). Subs: Ciaran Harnan for Durkan, Stephen Donoghue for Conneely, Aidan Gilsenan for Deering.