Third B League win in a row picked up against Blackhall Gaels

Monday, 24 June 2019 08:34

Moynalvey picked up their third B League win in a row when overcoming Blackhall Gaels at Kilcloon on Friday night June 21st.

Blackhall Gaels 2-10
Moynalvey 4-11

On the longest day of the year Moynalvey made the short trip up the road to Kilcloon for round 8 of the B League.

Little separated the sides in the opening period, but a barren second half scoring period for the home side was their detriment.

Blackhall opened the game with the first two points, before Ciaran Harnan opened Moynalvey's account in the 3rd minute.

Dermot Carty added another Blackhall score before the game’s first goal came in the 4th minute when Andrew Jackson found the net of the home side leaving it 1-1 to 0-3.

Four Blackhall Gaels points without reply left it 0-7 to 1-1 after 12 minutes.

Moynalvey points from James O'Neill, Eoin Corrigan and Shaun Deering, with a Paul Kelly point for Blackhall left the minimum between the sides, 0-8 to 1-4.

Blackhall Gaels scored their first goal in the 22nd minute with midfielder Paul Kelly finishing from close range after his initial attempt was saved by Moynalvey 'keeper David Brennan.

Then a brace of goals from Moynalvey's Ciaran Harnan within a minute of each other swung the advantage back to Moynalvey, 3-5 to 1-8 with 25 minutes played.

Two Blackhall points from Paul Kelly and Dermot Carty left the half the half time score 3-5 to 1-10 in favour of Moynalvey.

Four points for Blackhall, two either side of a point for Moynalvey's James O'Neill had the home side two points up eight minutes into the half, then came their barren spell, not scoring again until the 57th minute.

1-2 from Shaun Deering, 0-2 from James O'Neill and a point from substitute Brian Conneely had Moynalvey six points up after 53 minutes, before Paul Kelly struck for a late consolation Blackhall goal, leaving the full time score 4-11 to 2-14 in favour of Moynalvey.

David Brennan, Adam Rooney, Anthony Brien, Darragh Branigan, Johnny Carey, David Donoghue Eoin Corrigan (0-2), Paul Conneely, Carragh O’Brien, Andrew Jackson (1-0), James O’Neill (0-4, 2f), Shaun Deering (1-3), Eoghan Murphy, James Weldon, Ciaran Harnan (2-1).
Subs: Brian Conneely (0-1) for Jackson, Eoin Curley for Carey, Aidan Gilsenan for O’Neill