A late Ciaran Ennis penalty earned Moynalvey a share of the spoils in their Junior 'B' Championship opening round game against Walterstown played at Bective on Sunday evening April 19<sup>th</sup>.

## Moynalvey 2-7 Walterstown 0-13

Walterstown looked certain to take the two points on offer in this Junior 'B' Championship opener, but Ciaran Ennis' 61<sup>st</sup> minute penalty denied the Blacks the win. Ennis's penalty at the death rescued a point for Moynalvey and ensured he was the game's top marksman with 1-6 to his name. It was Ennis who gave Moynalvey an early two point lead sending over a brace of points, one from play and another from a '45 in the opening five minutes. Two Walterstown points in the 10

th and 11<sup>th</sup> minutes drew the sides level, before a trio of Blacks' points left score board reading 0-5 to 0-2 after 22 minutes of play. Ennis sent over what would be his third and Moynalvey's final point of the opening period in the 25

minute before Walterstown added two more points to their tally prior to the half time whistle, leaving four between the sides at the break, 0-7 to 0-3.

Three minutes after the interval Walterstown furthered their lead to four points, before substitute John Francis Martin began Moynalvey's revival when splitting the uprights in the 35<sup>th</sup> minute. Full Forward James Kelly fired home the game's opening goal in the 37

minute and two more Ennis points gave Moynalvey the lead again in the 40

minute, leaving it 1-6 to 0-8. Five converted Walterstown placed balls, four from frees and one from a '45 in the final quarter looked to have sealed victory for the Blacks. However there was still hope for Moynalvey as Ennis converted his sixth point of the evening in the 53 rd

minute and late drama saw him convert a penalty in injury time to salvage a point for the men in maroon and white.

Best for Moynalvey were Robert Lawless, Brian Conneely and Ciaran Ennis.

Moynalvey: Conor Egan, David Kane, Robert Lawless, Eoghan Mitchell, Brian Regan, Anthony Brien, Gary Crowley, Brian Conneely, Paul Conneely, David Durkan, Ciaran Ennis (1-6), Johnny Carey, Shaun Deering, James Kelly (1-0), Sean Duggan.

Subs: John Francis Martin (0-1) for Crowley, Patrick Dowling for Deering, Deering for Carey, Barry O'Keeffe for Durkan.