Moynalvey recorded their 1st victory of the 2015 Division 3 B League campaign when overcoming the challenge of St. Michaels on a two point winning margin at Kilmore Park Moynalvey last Saturday afternoon 7 th March.

Moynalvey 1-9 St. Michaels 1-7

Little separated the sides throughout this contest as the half time score line of 1-3 apiece suggests. It was the home side who opened the scoring in the 2nd minute when Moynalvey centre half forward James Weldon gained possession 30 yards from the posts on the right wing and took on his man to finish superbly finish low across St. Michaels' veteran Martin O'Connell. O'Connell came to the visitors rescue to deny Moynalvey a second goal two minutes later when denying Weldon after a Ray Ryan flick on set him up. The Carlanstown men opened their account in the 6 th minute when full forward Johnny Reilly split the uprights and within sixty seconds Michaels has the lead

for the first time when Reilly blasted to the back of Moynalvey net minder Brian Conneely's net from close range. The sides were level in the 12

minute, 1-1 apiece, when Ray Ryan pointed for the home side. At the half time whistle the sides remained level 1-3 apiece as two St. Michaels' points were countered by Ciaran Ennis & Ray Ryan.

Three points from Moynalvey in the 10th, 11th and 14th minute of the second half from two Ciaran Ennis frees and a point from play by substitute John Francis Martin left the home side three points to the good at the three quarter hour mark. St. Michaels cut the deficit to the minimum again in the 20 th minute with a

free and point from play by centre half forward Oran Meehan leaving the score line reading 1-6 to 1-5 in favour of Moynalvey. Ennis and Meehan traded points, before Michaels Gary Dolan drew the sides' level when splitting the uprights with four minutes of normal time remaining. However this proved to be the visitors final score and two Moynalvey points from Darragh Branigan and Ray Ryan left Moynalvey two point winners on a 1-9 to 1-7 score line.

Moynalvey: Brian Conneely, Eoghan Mitchell, David Kane, Anthony Brien, Darragh Branigan (0-1), Eamonn Walsh, Brendan Dixon, William Harnan, Donal Smith, Paul Conneely, James Weldon (1-0), David Durkan, Shaun Deering, Ciaran Ennis (0-4), Ray Ryan (0-3). Subs: John Francis Martin (0-1) for Deering, Garry Crowley for Weldon, Johnny Carey for Smith, Patrick Dowling for Durkan.