Moynalvey GFC

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Recent Results

  • 05/08/2020 (MFC Div. 4B: St. Peters Dunboyne (B) 5-9 Moynalvey/Boardsmill 1-8)
  • 02/08/2020 (Premier FC Div. 3 Group A: Moynalvey 0-8 Walterstown 0-12) Match Report
  • 31/07/2020 (Senior Football championship Rnd 1: Moynalvey 1-12 Summerhill 0-17) Match Report
  • 22/07/2020 (Div. 1 A League - Group B - Round 2: Moynalvey 3-7 Simonstown Gaels 1-12) Match Report
  • 17/07/2020 (Div. 1 A League - Group B - Round 1: Senschalstown 0-12 Moynalvey 4-10) Match Report
  • 08/02/2020 (Feis Cup - Round 3: Moynalvey 2-6 Seneschalstown 1-8) Match Report
  • 30/01/2020 (Feis Cup - Round 2: St. Colmcilles 0-14 Moynalvey 2-10) Match Report
Thursday August 13, 2020
Home A League/Senior Late rally leaves Moynalvey just short in League Final

Late rally leaves Moynalvey just short in League Final

E-mail Print PDF

Rathkenny withstood a late late comeback from Moynalvey to hold on and win the All County Division 2 A football league title by the minimum under lights at Castletown.

Rathkenny 0-13 Moynalvey 0-12

On an ideal night for football it was the winners who made all the running in the early stages and were rewarded with fine points from Keith Timmons and Brian Meade. Mark O’Sullivan put Moynalvey on the scoreboard and with 15 minutes gone Rathkenny led 0-4 to 0-2.

Coalach Halligan got the first of his three points before Rathkenny keeper Colin Curtis produced two fine saves to keep Moynalvey from raising certain green flags. Martin and Mark O’Sullivan traded scores but Halligan and Martin extended the winners lead. Cillian O’Sullivan closed out the scoring in an entertaining first half as Rathkenny headed for the dressing rooms 0-7 to 0-4 in front.

Des Lane’s charges made a push for home in the opening 15 minutes of the second half. Four unanswered points from Halligan, Ivan Lineman, Jack Gore and Martin opened up a 0-11 to 0-4 lead. James Weldon and James Macken swapped points before Moynalvey found a new lease of life to dominate the closing stages.

Weldon kick started this revival with a fine point, Mark O’Sullivan added another and a brace from substitute James O’Neill, immediately after been introduced, narrowed the lead to three 0-12 to 0-9.

Jack Gore steadied the Rathkenny ship with a great point but that proved to be their last score with seven minutes remaining. Those final minutes belonged to Moynalvey. The O’Sullivan’s Cillian (2) and Mark had the lead down to the minimum as the game entered injury time. The Paul Harnan/Denis O’Shea outfit had two more chances to get something from the game but both efforts went wide and the Division 2 FL title was heading over the road to Rathkenny.

After the game County Board Vice Chairman Peter O’Halloran presented the Kevin McConnell Cup to Rathkenny captain Brian Meade.

Rathkenny scorers: Caolach Halligan and Thomas Martin 0-3 each, Jack Gore 0-2, Brian Meade, James Macken, Robbie Garry, Ivan Lenehan and Keith Timmons 0-1 each.

Moynalvey scorers: Mark O’Sullivan 0-4, Cillian O’Sullivan 0-3, James Weldon 0-3, James O’Neill 0-2

Match Report taken from


Club Newsletter

Moynalvey Images


Created by SopanTech Solutions


Content View Hits : 1831340

Club Membership


Lotto Draws

Lotto Results

Upcoming Fixtures

  • Wednesday 5th August

    (Minor FC Div. 4B - Round 1) 
    St. Peters Dunboyne (B) v Moynalvey/Boardsmill at 7:30pm in Dunboyne 

  • Saturday 15th August

    (SFC - Group A - Round 2) 
    v Curraha at 6:30pm in Skryne (Note: Change of Time)

  • Sunday 16th August

    (Premier FC - Div. 3 Group A - Round 2) 
    v Ballivor at 12noon in Moynalvey 

  • Wednesday August 19th

    (Minor FC Div. 4B - Round 2) 
    Moynalvey/Boardsmill v Bective Dunsany at home at 7:30pm

  • Wednesday 26th August

    (Minor FC Div. 4B - Round 3) 
    Kilmainhamwood v Moynalvey/Boardsmill at 7:30pm 

Follow Moynalvey


Who's online

We have 25 guests online

Moynalvey GFC Sponsors

McCormack Farms   Moynalvey Building Services  Capture