Moynalvey earned their second victory of the 2015 Hoganstand.com SFC when overcoming Duleek/Bellewstown on a 2-18 to 1-10 score line in this round 3 tie played at Walterstown on Thursday evening May 21st.

Moynalvey 2-18 Duleek/Bellewstown 1-10

Moynalvey continued on from where they left off against Summerhill in the 2nd round, recording their second win of the championship with this comfortable 11 point victory, they now head into the annual championship break with four points from a possible six with their only blemish so far coming at the hands of Wolfe Tones in the opening round.

Moynalvey's opening quarter set the tone for the remainder of the game as they held an eight point lead on a 0-9 to 0-1 score line after 18 minutes, converting nine chances from a possible nine in that period. Once again it was last year's county minor David McLoughlin who took the scoring plaudits kicking 1-9 following on from his 1-6 against Summerhill in the last round.

It was the game's top scorer McLoughlin who opened the scoring in the 1st minute after being played in by James Weldon. A minute later John Donoghue pointed for the men in maroon and white with the outside of the right boot from the right wing, before Conal McGinley opened Duleek/Bellewstown's account in the 5

minute. A thirteen minute period between the 5

and 18

th

minute saw the Moynalvey forward unit excelling, converting seven unanswered points in this period. James Weldon started off Moynalvey's purple patch which was followed by points from David McLoughlin, Dan Treacy and a fisted point from Shane Lenehan. In the 13 th

minute Weldon converted a quick fire brace of points, the first after the ball was recycled back out to him by Lenehan following good work along the end line and the second similar to John Donoghue's earlier point off the right boot on the right wing. Moynalvey 'keeper Ray Ryan was swiftly off his line on the quarter hour mark to avert a possible Duleek/Bellewstown goal in one of their few attacks of the opening period. Duleek/Bellewstown's only other points of the first half were frees coming in the 18

and 25

th

minutes respectively, while two more McLoughlin points before the half time whistle left the score reading 0-11 to 0-3 in favour of the men in maroon and white at the break.

Within sixty seconds of the restart Duleek/Bellewstown pointed, however Moynalvey's first score of the second period was the game's first goal when James Weldon found the back of the Duleek/Bellewstown net following an excellent pass in over the top from Shane Lenehan. Two minutes later Lenehan was once again on hand to provide the assist, this time for David McLoughlin to split the uprights extending Moynalvey's advantage to 12 points seven minutes into the second period. A high ball into the Moynalvey danger area resulted in the ball being fisted past Moynalvey goalkeeper Ray Ryan for the game's second goal in the 38th minute, leaving it 1-13 to 1-4. Both sides sent over three points apiece between the 39

and 47

minutes, Moynalvey's scores coming from McLoughlin (2) and David Donoghue, leaving the score reading 1-16 to 1-7. Moynalvey raised a green flag for a second time in the 49 th

minute when a James Weldon point attempt rebounded off the upright to David McLoughlin who made no mistake from close range firing past Duleek/Bellewstown net minder Ricky Nolan. The final 10 minutes saw Duleek/Bellewstown oustcore Moynalvey 0-3 to 0-2 with Moynalvey's points coming from substitute William Harnan and the game's top marksman David McLoughlin, leaving the final score 2-18 to 1-10 in favour of Barry O'Keeffe's men.

Best for the winners were Darren Brennan, Padraic Harnan, David Reilly, James Weldon, Shane Lenehan and top scorer McLoughlin.

Moynalvey: Ray Ryan, Cathal McCabe, Darren Brennan, Darragh Branigan, Anthony Forde, Padraic Harnan, David Reilly, Donal Smith, Stephen Donoghue, John Donoghue (0-1), Dan Treacy (0-1), James Weldon (1-3), David McLoughlin (1-9, 4f), Shane Lenehan (0-2), David Donoghue (0-1).

Subs: James O'Neill for David Donoghue, William Harnan (0-1) for John Donoghue, Eamonn Walsh for Smith.